What Are The 6 Invertebrate Groups?

Invertebrates are animals that do not have a backbone or spinal column. There are about 1.3 million known invertebrate species, and they make up more than 97% of all animal species.

The six main groups of invertebrates are mollusks, arthropods, echinoderms, chordates, annelids, and cnidarians.

What are the 5 types of invertebrate?

The five types of invertebrates are mollusks, arthropods, annelids, chordates, and plesiosaurs. Mollusks are the most diverse group, and include both aquatic and terrestrial species.

Arthropods are the second most diverse group, and include insects, arachnids, and crustaceans. Annelids are a group of segmented invertebrates that have a ring of cilia on their body.

Chordates are a group of animals that have a backbone and are divided into vertebrates and invertebrates. Plesiosaurs are a group of marine reptiles that were the largest creatures to ever live.

How many invertebrates are there in the animal kingdom?

There are about a million invertebrates in the animal kingdom including over a thousand different kinds of arthropods. These include insects, spiders, crustaceans, and mollusks.

What is invertebrates?

Invertebrates are animals that lack a backbone (vertebrates). This group includes everything from tiny parasitic creatures to huge sea creatures like turtles and sharks. The majority of invertebrates are small, but some, like insects, can be quite large.

Invertebrates are a hugely diverse group, with more than 25,000 different species found on Earth. Some invertebrates, like coral, are important part of the marine environment.

What are the main invertebrates groups?

There are three main invertebrate groups: crustaceans, arthropods, and mollusks. Crustaceans are animals that have a hard exoskeleton and a pair of antennae.

  What Is The Fastest Growing Aquarium Plant?

Arthropods are animals that have an exoskeleton and jointed limbs. Mollusks are animals that have a soft body and a single shell.

What are the 6 types of invertebrates?

The six types of invertebrates are arthropods, annelids, bilaterians, chordates, echinoderms, and mollusks.

What are the main groups of invertebrate animals?

The main groups of invertebrate animals are arthropods, molluscs, and annelids. Arthropods are the largest and most diverse group of invertebrates, and include insects, spiders, and crabs.

Molluscs include sea snails and slugs, and annelids include earthworms, leeches, and nematodes.

What are the 7 invertebrate groups?

The seven invertebrate groups are Arthropods (insects, spiders, centipedes, millipedes, crustaceans), Myriapods (centipede-like creatures including millipedes, centipedes, and the like), Crustaceans, Mollusks (clams, oysters, squid, octopuses), Chordates (animals with a backbone, including fish, amphibians, and reptiles), and Echinoderms (sea stars, sea urchins, sand dollars).

What is an invertebrate?

An invertebrate is an animal that does not have a backbone. This includes things like jellyfish, crabs, and sea stars.

How many types of invertebrate are there?

There are over a thousand types of invertebrates, including insects, crustaceans, arachnids, and mollusks. This diversity is due to the myriad of ways in which invertebrates reproduce, their varying body plans, and their ecological roles.


There are six major groups of invertebrates: mollusks, arthropods, echinoderms, annelids, cnidarians, and sponges. Mollusks include snails, slugs, bivalves, and octopuses.

Arthropods include spiders, crabs, and insects. Echinoderms include starfish and sea urchins.

Annelids include earthworms and leeches. Cnidarians include jellyfish and corals.

Sponges are the simplest of all invertebrates.